“And this is my gospel”


D&C 39: 6 “And this is my gospel—repentance and baptism by water, and then cometh the baptism of fire and the Holy Ghost, even the Comforter, which showeth all things, and teacheth the peaceable thingsof the kingdom.”

Perhaps it’s too picky or analytic of me, but what exactly is the gospel? I want to address the phrase “fulness of the gospel” in D&C 42, especially with its connection to the Book of Mormon. But if we are talking about a fulness of the gospel, I would like to know simply what the gospel itself is, before I start.

D&C 39:6 – “repentance and baptism by water … and the Holy Ghost ”

This seems like a common explanation. Where else do we have such clear language?

A search for “this is my gospel” resulted in 149 hits! Well, let’s get started:

D&C 84: 26-27:

And the lesser priesthood continued, which priesthood holdeth the key of the ministering of angels and the preparatory gospel;

Which gospel is the gospel of repentance and of baptism, and the remission of sins, and the law of carnal commandments, which the Lord in his wrath caused to continue with the house of Aaron among the children of Israel until John, whom God raised up, being filled with the Holy Ghost from his mother’s womb.

Does the gift of the Holy Ghost go beyond this preparatory gospel?

D&C 138:19

And there he preached to them the everlasting gospel, the doctrine of the resurrection and the redemption of mankind from the fall, and from individual sins on conditions of repentance.

D&C 138:57

gospel of repentance and redemption

D&C 10 – wow, lots here.

46 And, behold, all the remainder of this work does contain all those parts of my gospel which my holy prophets, yea, and also my disciples, desired in their prayers should come forth untothis people.

48 Yea, and this was their faith—that my gospel, which I gave unto them that they might preach in their days, might come unto their brethren the Lamanites, and also all that had become Lamanites because of their dissensions.

52 And now, behold, according to their faith in their prayers will I bring this part of my gospel to the knowledge of my people.

62 Yea, and I will also bring to light my gospel which was ministered unto them, and, behold, they shall not deny that which you have received, but they shall build it up, and shall bring to light the true points of my doctrine, yea, and the only doctrine which is in me.

63 And this I do that I may establish my gospel, that there may not be so much contention; yea, Satan doth stir up the hearts of the people to contention concerning the points of my doctrine; and in these things they do err, for they do wrest the scriptures and do not understand them.

It seems like D&C 10 is going to be an important place to go. It talks about what the gospel is, what the Nephites had, what the Nephites wanted to go to the Lamanites, it seems to talk both about what was had throughout Nephite history and also what Christ ministered to them, and it talks about doctrines in relation to this gospel. Definitely a gold mine for future work with the “fulness of the gospel” and the Book of Mormon. Onward, then!

Leave a Reply

