2 Ne 2, a few thoughts


Just a few thoughts on the beginning of 2 Ne 2, without separating the words into verses.

Wherefore, I know that thou art redeemed, because of the righteousness of thy Redeemer; for thou hast beheld that in the fulness of time he cometh to bring salvation unto men. [because of Redeemer, not because he’s seen a vision.] And thou hast beheld in thy youth his glory; wherefore, thou art blessed even as they unto whom he shall minister in the flesh; [as just mentioned – in the fulness of times] for the Spirit is the same, yesterday, today, and forever.

And the way is prepared from the fall of man, [though enacted in the fulness of times, prepared from fall] and salvation is free. And men are instructed sufficiently that they know good from evil.[After the fall, they have knowledge- here, they are instructed so as to have this knowledge. Not an immediate result.] And the law is given unto men. [Again, we talking about Adam & Eve, I believe, rather than Law of Moses.] And by the law no flesh is justified; or, by the law men are cut off. [not just not justified, but unjustified.] Yea, by the temporal law they were cut off; and also, by the spiritual law they perish from that which is good, and become miserable forever. [whoa whoa, they were given two laws – where do we read about these? Not some great transcendent law but something given to them – it was explained to them, and it was local, for them (for us too perhaps, but still – it was given to them).]

Here’s this part again, without verse numbers or my notes:


And the way is prepared from the fall of man, and salvation is free. And men are instructed sufficiently that they know good from evil.
And the law is given unto men. And by the law no flesh is justified; or, by the law men are cut off. Yea, by the temporal law they were cut off; and also, by the spiritual law they perish from that which is good, and become miserable forever.
Wherefore, redemption cometh in and through the Holy Messiah; for he is full of grace and truth. Behold, he offereth himself a sacrifice for sin, to answer the ends of the law, unto all those who have a broken heart and a contrite spirit; and unto none else can the ends of the law be answered.

Wherefore, redemption cometh in and through the Holy Messiah; for he is full of grace and truth. Behold, he offereth himself a sacrifice for sin, to answer the ends of the law, unto all those who have a broken heart and a contrite spirit; and unto none else can the ends of the law be answered. [I still want to know if this is a specific law mentioned in the scriptures or a more general, transcendent law.]

[I suppose what I’m asking is – When I usually read this, am I trying to construct what Lehi means by law AND seeing what he is saying about it? I think I am, and I think that is why I always feel a bit overwhelmed by it. But if I’m doing both at the same time, I’m probably not doing a very good job at either. This is good to realize! Very helpful.]

2 responses to “2 Ne 2, a few thoughts

  • Roberta Gruber

    In my perspective (since I deal with the temporal “law” in so much of my job), I take it as the universal, overarching law that must be complied with, not one specific law…. but I could be wrong 🙂

  • Karen

    I suppose I do see it as a universal law, so I don’t think my thoughts were very clearly put when I wrote this. The way I would say it now is that whatever law or laws Adam and Eve got that this chapter talks about, are probably the same one or ones that apply to us. But rather than making it an abstract concept, there may be more information about this law or laws that will make 2 Ne more clear to me.

Leave a Reply

