YW and feminism…


So, I consider myself pretty open-minded. I like to step back and see what’s going on in a situation or an organization in the church. I’m not nearly as clear-headed or insightful about these things as some of my closest friends are, by any means. But still…

Reading a discussion at FMH a few minutes ago really, really disappointed me. What I saw as a fantastic and deep YW broadcast they (the poster, and most of the commenters) threw out the window because Sis. Dalton said that girls shouldn’t send boys inappropriate images so they don’t lose the spirit. Now, I am also of the opinion that the missionary-letter lesson in the manuals does promote a “girls, you can either be neutral and let the guys work, or you can be a distraction. Don’t distract” sort of approach. There isn’t in that lesson a real meaty talk about the Abrahamic covenant or other such things on missionary work that would allow women to add to the effort of sharing the gospel, and then as a by-product, not desire to distract missionaries… Yah, anyway, there is a lot to do there. BUT, Sis. Dalton’s talk didn’t fall into that category! She didn’t at all imply all the junk about guys can’t control themselves so it’s your fault if they do something bad. Not at all! For one, to send inappropriate images (or sexting, or whatever) is certainly not good for any YW, and in the talk of guarding virtue – well, to spread that around is not protecting anyone’s virtue, the sender included.

But anyway, her comment on this was brief and a part of a larger point she was making.

And, look, I don’t care who you are, male or female, but when you see something sexual or go to a place you shouldn’t be, the spirit leaves to tell you it’s not a good place to be. Sis. Dalton said NOTHING about causing YM to go off and do bad things, she just said that the picture or message would cause them to lose the Spirit when they received the text. And that is a simple, plain, straightforward thing to say. That’s all.

Anyway, I would have posted there, but of course since people like to find reasons to complain about something that wasn’t what they are actually complaining about, there are nearly 200 comments.

Yikes.

Unfortunately this is the face of Mormon feminism, when there are actually productive things they could be doing.

Sorry to vent. I guess that’s why I created my own blog, though, huh? 🙂

3 responses to “YW and feminism…

  • Karen

    okay, to be fair, there are several of the comments I agree with. I was just frustrated at how many said, “Oh good! Glad I didn’t go see it.” They totally dismissed the whole thing. Critically thinking is one thing, but avoiding it all together is something else.

  • Roberta

    I’ve had a difficult time reading anything on FMH. It seems to get off track far too often and far too frequently. Anger seems to surface there, especially in the comments, so I’ve stayed away. I agree with you, by the way…hahaha. Yet, even as much as I love segullah.org for it’s terrific LDS women’s writing, the angry comments about nothing are found there, too. Sad, eh?!

  • Karen

    Ah, I didn’t realize that about Segullah. I’ve only stopped by maybe twice. (I’m not a very regular blog reader, which is why I’m always so pleasantly surprised when I realize you are reading my blog! 🙂 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

