Anti?


I’m not sure if I already posted this, sorry if this is a repeat. I was thinking about the name “Anti-Nephi-Lehi” that the converted Lamanites give to themselves. It’s a bit of a confusion because “Anti” does elsewhere mean “against,” as in the Anti-Christs like Korihor. But we can’t find a satisfactory reason why this “Anti” should not be a negative thing.

But! I’ve got my own little idea now, and maybe someone’s already pointed this one out anyway. But, here it is. I think the “Anti-Nephi” part of the name means just as it sounds “not Nephi”. I think they are calling themselves “The Lehites that are not Nephites.” ie, the children of Lehi who are not Nephites. Why would they do that? Well, I think they have found themselves in an awkward, almost nameless position. They are not Lamanites anymore, culturally, but neither are they actually Nephites. They are not Lamanites and not Nephites. They occupy a space between the two. So, they are the “Anti-Nephi-Lehis” The not-Nephi (but not therefore Laman) descendants of Lehi.

There’s my thought for the morning. 🙂 Does it work? What do you think?

One response to “Anti?

Leave a Reply

