Revelation (May 2013 YW New Curriculum Topic)


What a beautiful scripture to (perhaps) quote to the  YW:

“If thou shalt ask, thou shalt receive revelation upon revelation, knowledge upon knowledge, that thou mayest know the mysteries and peaceable things—that which bringeth joy, that which bringeth life eternal.”

That’s D&C 42:61. It is of course talking to Joseph Smith, but I think every word in there has applied to me personally.

I am thinking of talking about personal revelation for this week’s lesson. I thought about using Two Lines of Communication, but that didn’t feel right yet. Then I thought about Sis. Dibb’s talk on finding holy places, since I think revelation comes in holy places. But that hasn’t settled on me yet either. Right now I’m thinking of other scriptures that talk about having faith that you can receive your own revelation, like 1 Nephi 15 where Nephi asks his brothers why they haven’t thought to ask God.

I also thought about connecting it to the Restoration lessons by talking about how the Gift of the Holy Ghost comes by the priesthood, which is part of the Restoration.

I guess I could also have a lesson on the Priesthood, which is what I would have taught on last week but plans had to change last minute. Hmm. That’s an option.

But, my study wants to go elsewhere this morning, so I’ll have to work on this more tomorrow. Adios!

Leave a Reply

