“Oath” from Oath and Covenant?


Yes, yes, a perpetual question of mine. I was doing research on Melchizedek again (b/c of my next Dews From Heaven post), and I remembered that the JST had some interesting details.

The JST for Hebrews 7 has these two verses about Melchizedek:

3 For this Melchizedek was ordained a priest after the order of the Son of God, which order was without father, without mother, without descent, having neither beginning of days, nor end of life. And all those who are ordained unto this priesthood are made like unto the Son of God, abiding a priest continually.

21 (For those priests were made without an oath; but this with an oath by him that said unto him, The Lord sware and will not repent, Thou art a priest forever after the order of Melchizedek;)

Does the “oath” or covenant have to do with the fact that this is forever? Is that the oath? That is will last, that the priest has become part of an order that never ends? It’s a good hypothesis, that of course needs much more time and attention. But I’ll try and keep that one in mind next time I work on D&C 84!

2 responses to ““Oath” from Oath and Covenant?

  • Karen

    And as far as the “covenant” part goes, I just remembered that the JST reference right before Hebrews (in my little search results for Melchizedek in the JST) was this one:

    JST, Genesis 14:40
    40 And it came to pass, that God blessed Abram, and gave unto him riches, and honor, and lands for an everlasting possession; according to the covenant which he had made, and according to the blessing wherewith Melchizedek had blessed him.

    So I’m not sure what that means for us, in our day, at all. But I’ll keep it here in this post so I can search for it and find it if it become useful later on!

  • Karen

    Ha! I was just teaching on the Oath and Covenant from the Joseph Fielding Smith manual and that’s exactly the interpretation he gives of “Oath.” I guess I’m not doing my work as sloppily as I thought!

Leave a Reply

