“Whether by mine own voice or by the voice of my servants, it is the same.”


I was thinking about these words the other day from D&C 1:

37 Search these commandments, for they are true and faithful, and the prophecies and promises which are in them shall all be fulfilled.

38 What I the Lord have spoken, I have spoken, and I excuse not myself; and though the heavens and the earth pass away, my word shall not pass away, but shall all be fulfilled, whether by mine own voice or by the voice of my servants, it is the same.”

And I think I have a new interpretation (new to me, I’ve realized others have thought of this before). I think that often we read this as that scripture can come about by God’s voice or by His servants’ voices. But as I read these two verses in a row, I decided that I think it means something slightly different.

I think that verse 37 and on into 38 are establishing the unchanging nature of scripture and God’s promises in them. Search the scriptures, learn what’s there, and trust it will be fulfilled! Now, the line “whether by mine own voice or by the voice of my servants” comes after this is established, I think. I think it is saying that this is how those scriptures are fulfilled. That is, scripture “shall all be fulfilled, whether by mine own voice or by the voice of my servants.”

The message is not necessarily to look to inspired men for more scripture (though that can happen to). But the message here is to be open to how God is going to fulfill scripture. We trust that God has promised certain things. Now, we need to be open and let God answer those things as He pleases.

Leave a Reply

