D&C 84 is a mix of both halves of Hebrews


So that title doesn’t make much sense but it was feeling I had rereading through D&C 84. In the commentary I’m reading on Hebrews the author is constantly showing how Hebrews compares the old priesthood to the new covenant. But in the commentary, this means letting go of priesthood itself. The only priesthood that remains is Christ as high priest, but that role replaces the earthly priesthood. The earthly temple is replaced by heaven itself, etc.

That may very well be what Hebrews is explaining (indeed it seems it is). So when Joseph Smith comes along and restores some more information, I can see why he is so interested in the book of Hebrews. It’s like D&C 84 wants to agree with everything Hebrews is saying, except adding in the idea that the Melchizedek priesthood existed before and meant to do all those same things that Christ did when he came (take us to the Father, for example!).

Currently, I think what Hebrews is adding to my thoughts on “oath and covenant” in D&C 84 is that the Melchizedek Priesthood office is given for now and after this life, so therefore a priest in that order can keep taking us to God after this life. Because a priest in an eternal order can commune with God and walk into His presence, then those following that priest have the chance to do the same. So, therefore:

35 And also all they who receive this priesthood receive me, saith the Lord;

36 For he that receiveth my servants receiveth me;

37 And he that receiveth me receiveth my Father;

38 And he that receiveth my Father receiveth my Father’s kingdom; therefore all that my Father hath shall be given unto him.

39 And this is according to the oath and covenant which belongeth to the priesthood.

That’s my best connection so far, but I hope to get a lot more out of this study before I’m done.

Leave a Reply

