“Nor ever before had thought of”


Yesterday at Jonah’s baptism, I was blessed with the chance to give a talk on the Holy Ghost. In the moment, I decided to read these verses from JS-H:

Immediately on our coming up out of the water after we had been baptized, we experienced great and glorious blessings from our Heavenly Father…

 Our minds being now enlightened, we began to have the scriptures laid open to our understandings, and the true meaning and intention of their more mysterious passages revealed unto us in a manner which we never could attain to previously, nor ever before had thought of.

In the moment what I felt like emphasizing for Jonah was that here were two men who already cared about the scriptures and keeping the commandments, and being baptized was a way to tell Heavenly Father they really meant it and to make a covenant (we have talked about how a covenant is like promising to do what you are all ready doing – a stronger promise that you’re really in). Then when they were baptized, they learned more from the scriptures than they had before — things they hadn’t even thought of before. I think the Holy Ghost is that kind of influence in our lives generally. We want to serve and do good, and the Holy Ghost will help us do that in ways we hadn’t thought of before. We want to learn about the gospel and the Holy Ghost will teach us things we hadn’t thought of.

I enjoyed teaching Jonah (he’s so good and happy!) and I also just enjoyed the experience of trying to teach by the Spirit again. This past week Joe and I edited through my old paper on teaching by the Spirit from the D&C 42 project. It was a good paper, and helped me see what I’ve been missing for the past few years! I prepared differently, I prayed differently, and I taught differently. I hadn’t thought to use this scripture in this way until I was standing up in front of Jonah. I loved it.

 

Leave a Reply

