Alma 7 – word, words


Hi! I have read Alma 7 twice in the past two days and been struck by the many times Alma talks about word, words, what the spirit saith, etc. For example:

“I attempt to address you in my language” v.1

“first time that I have spoken unto you by the words of my mouth” v.1

“I do not say that he will come among us at the time of his dwelling in his mortal tabernacle; for behold, the Spirit hath not said unto me that this should be the case” v.8

“this much I do know, that the Lord God hath power to do all things which are according to his word” v.8

“the Spirit hath said this much unto me…” v.9

[Note that the Spirit told him to prepare for God to come on the earth, and Alma knows that will be fulfilled, but what he doesn’t know is whether that means that God will come to them while he is on the earth or not. That is, I think verses 7 and 8 are dependent what he’s heard from the Spirit, which he lays out starting in verse 9.]

“for the Spirit saith if ye are not born again ye cannot inherit the kingdom of heaven” v.14

“the same will remember that I say unto him, yea, he will remember that I have said unto him, he shall have eternal life, according to the testimony of the Holy Spirit, which testifieth in me” v.16

“the way that I know that ye believe them is by the manifestation of the Spirit which is in me” v.17

“I perceive that it has been made known unto you, by the testimony of his word…” v.20

“I have spoken these words unto you according to the Spirit which testifieth in me” v.26

Leave a Reply

